Let the adventures begin!

Leave a comment

September 16, 2012 by frontyardfarm

To begin, a few notes:

First off, the name is a little misleading, as I will not immediately be farming in the front yard.  My husband and I decided instead to begin our experiment in produce self-sufficiency on the west side of the house, off of the driveway.   Our plans for the front yard are not only driven by the desire to eat fresh fruits and vegetables, but also to create an aesthetically pleasing space that isn’t LAWN.  So we decided that our first run of fall planting will be two raised beds, tucked back from the street.  At least until we work out some of the kinks.

Second, I feel compelled to explain why I am documenting this process as there are already many websites and books devoted to this very subject.  I will even be using some of them as reference points.  Really this is as much for myself as anyone.  How lovely to have an interactive record of this adventure, a way of keeping track of everything and opening a dialogue with like-minded people.  And if my mistakes (and hopefully successes) can be instructive to others, then I want to make sure they are out there.  When we want to learn, we should teach others.  The more you have to explain the lessons you are yourself learning, the deeper your understanding of them.

Third, I am starting my record slightly behind my actual activities.  And by slightly I mean something like 11 days behind.  So I have a lot to get caught up on . . .

Leave a Reply

